Give Thanks

I had not planned on writing a Thanksgiving post.  On further reflection, this year of all years I have so much for which to be thankful that it wouldn’t be fitting to let this time of gratitude pass without mention!

I give thanks to the good Lord above that He saw fit to keep me around so that I could give thanks this Thanksgiving!

I give thanks for all the medical personnel who, through His guidance and their extraordinary talents, have provided diagnosis, treatment and caring during this Journey of mine.

I give thanks for the love of my family, each and every one of you, who have stayed with me all along the way and who have had to deal with my ups and downs.

I give thanks for the love of many, many friends, some long-time, some new, who have sustained me with their constant thoughtfulness and caring and who also have had to deal with this unpredictable roller coaster ride of mine.

I give thanks for the path created for me that led me to pursue my lifelong love of writing … and even for the moment of temporary insanity that led me to be a NaNoWriMo participant this year 🙂 (13,458 words to go!) I must include also my thanks for you, my readers, who take the time to visit and leave your little messages of encouragement.

I hope that you will pause on Thanksgiving day to give thanks for your blessings, too.  Please accept my heartfelt wishes for a wonderful holiday and let me share with you a little poem and a pic forwarded by my cousin Debbie:

May your stuffing be tasty. May your turkey be plump.

May your potatoes ‘ n gravy have nary a lump.

May your yams be delicious. May your pies take the prize.

May your Thanksgiving dinner stay off of your thighs.

MAY YOU HAVE A BLESSED THANKSGIVING!

This entry was posted in Friendship, Gratitude, Happiness, Health, NaNoWriMo, Thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Give Thanks

  1. Archon says:

    I WON’T sell my Stubborn…and you can’t make me! I worked hard for it, and it’s mine, I tell you, mine! Don’t want to sell Stubborn!

    Now that I’ve established the level of my writing…I was going to hold my breath ’till I turned blue, but you only get back about every three days, and even then you can’t see my face. I’ll bet the grandkid is better behaved than that.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Grrr! Fine! then I’ll just have to engage in stubborn-one-upsmanship with you! You’ll be sorry!

      Ha! Fooled you about the 3 days. That was just to set up a pattern until you sucked in your breath and started holding it! And yeah, she’s better behaved now, but starting to diminish in her angelic state the closer she gets to 3. But, she’ll learn — soon she will have a baby brudder and she’ll have to start going with the flow a little better. That’ll teach her!

  2. wisdomofmoda says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Hermee. I am thankful for yooz.

  3. Awesome post! Happy Thanksgiving to you also dear lady.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Bette Lee, thanks so much! I hope yours was wonderful, and I just re-read your lovely Christmas post — I’m so late in catching up on all of these comments, I’m ashamed!

  4. Beautiful! And the photo is hysterical! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. Many of us are glad you’re still around, too.

  5. ClaireMcA says:

    Well said, have a wonderful day with your family and loved ones.

  6. Archon says:

    Thanks for forwarding Chuck’s secret-handshake, coded, Oktoberfest message. The correct answer is, “Hot chocolate and an apple fritter.”

    Hilarious, and truly, typically Canadian. Nothing really, to do with Oktoberfest, just with being north of the Excited States. Did you follow it? I’ll explain if you’d like. It became a potential blog subject, I wrote it down. I’ll be looking for those from now on.

    I’m thankful that we don’t have to wait as late for our Thanksgiving, as you Americans do. We had a skiff of snow here Sunday. It melted, but it was a reminder that our big blows are coming. I’m also very thankful that, even long-distance, I’ve met such a nice friend as you. Keep chugging away at that novel young lady.

    • cwc6161 says:

      LOL, thanks for supplying the correct answer! Now I can travel to Kitchener and feel like an insider.

      I’d agree with your “wait as late” comment, however in my profession as a professor of applied mathematics, may I point out respectfully that October to October is no less of a wait than November to November?

      My thankfulness list also included having met another Kitchenerite with whom I’m enjoying a lovely, ongoing friendship — I believe his name is Archon!

      Novel update is coming in the next post 🙂

Leave a comment