Cozy Up with Author Tonya Kappes’ Fiction … and More!

Welcome to our weekly feature,

The E-Pub 

 Information from both the author’s and the reader’s points of view concerning the publishing frontier known as e-publishing.

Our guest this week is international best-selling author Tonya Kappes. Amazingly-enough, with her long and growing list of published titles, Tonya began her writing career only five years ago. We’re excited to introduce you to this talented author, so grab a cup of coffee or pour yourself a cold brew — beverages are always on the house — pull up a chair, and enjoy! Don’t forget to leave a comment here — Tonya has graciously offered to give TWO commenters their choice of one of her e-books. Leave your e-mail and the name of the book you’d like to win (see links, below) in your comment so you can be notified!

Tonya, at what age did you first realize you wanted to write books and how/when did you first share this ambition with “the world”? Gosh, I didn’t start until five years ago. I’ve always been good at telling stories, but boy is that different than writing them down.

I took a lot of on-line classes, joined writer’s groups, critique group, and attended a lot of workshops. Writing isn’t an easy job, but it’s one that I continually learn something. The learning process never ends.

I immediately told everyone that I was going to write a novel. I’m not very shy, so telling people was easy. Plus everyone that knows me knows that when I put my mind to something. . .I DO IT!

Who in your life and what authors you read had the most influence over your decision to write? Definitely my husband. He is the one who encouraged me after he picked up a book I was reading and told me that I could write one. He was right. (As usual but we won’t tell him that!)

 You’re an international best-selling author of women’s fiction and cozy fiction, but you also have written non-fiction books geared toward helping authors to effectively market and promote their careers.  Do you prefer writing fiction or non-fiction and why? They reach out to different communities so I really couldn’t choose. I love reaching readers and help escape everyday life, but I also love to help writers and pay it forward without expecting anything in return.

Cozy fiction is a popular genre. What do you think is its appeal? I really think people relate to the everyday heroine and having to solve her own crimes. She has to rely on smarts and instincts to save herself. Don’t we love that??

Is there another genre you’d like to try and what attracts you about that genre? No. I’m not good at writing romance. I really stink at it because I tend to write humorous and that is a hard line for me to cross. I’m pretty content with women’s fiction and cozies.

Please tell us about your latest release and any releases we may look forward to soon. A Charming Crime is a made up world of magical/psychic stuff….I’ve never written anything where I completely make up the entire world and words with in that world. It was a ton of fun! It is coming out on June 12th!!! YIPPEE~

It’s magical! I write super light and give my readers a good escape from today’s hectic life. When they pick up a Tonya Kappes novel, they know they are going to enjoy a light read where they don’t have to think for a few minutes.

Here is the blurb for A Charming Crime:   Bubble… Bubble… June Heal has nothing to lose when she relocates her homeopathic cure shop, A Dose of Darla, from the flea market booth in her home town, to a quaint shop in the cozy but unusual little town of Whispering Falls,Kentucky. Or so it seems.

Cures and trouble…  Whispering Falls has a lot of secrets. From talking snow globes to whispering animals not to mention a few sprinkles of fairy dust, June realizes Whispering Falls is more magical than she thought. . .literally.

Magic stirs…  June discovers she was born into a family of psychics, and her homeopathic cures truly are magical. Unfortunately, they are not magical enough to save her from being the number one murder suspect when a member of the community that she had just had a disagreement with shows up face down in the lake with June’s lucky charm in the victim’s grasp.

And troubles double… Add to that an attraction to her high school best friend, Sheriff Oscar Park and  Mr. Prince Charming, her cat, is stealing charms from Belle’s Baubles, June is forced to clear her name in more ways than murder. After all, they don’t let you have a cauldron in jail.

“Tonya’s Street Team” has its own page on Facebook since just this week. What can you tell us about the Team? It’s easiest for me to share my letter I sent to my readers. It’s really all about them:  This is a team that I have assembled because you have been so supportive and an instrumental part of my success. I’m creating this group to help spread the word about my books. The best sell for an author is personal recommendation. The best way for me to do that is for you, my friends, to spread the word through email or word of mouth would be a great big help.

There isn’t much to it. As a member, you will join my online Yahoo group which is a yes to the street team invite. And in return you get a chance to:
* have a character named after you in my books
* win the monthly drawing for Street Team Members only-you are automatically entered. (this includes gift cards, books, and other fun stuff)
* in the month of my releases, you have a chance to win a $25 Visa gift card
* Fun tips about my characters
* More extra things!

What do you have to do to be a TONYA KAPPES STREET MEMBER? You only have to do none or all of these:)

* join the Tonya Kappes Street Team Yahoo loop
* spread the word to family and friends about the books of mine that you really liked
* take promo materials to local writers groups, conventions, etc…
* be my friend
* pick one of my books for your book club
* Skype me into your book club or Google Plus is fine too
* if you have a blog, feature my new book trailer, review my book, interview me
* post reviews for my books on all the reader-centric sites like Goodreads, Shelfari, Amazon, Barnes and Noble etc…

I can’t take credit for the street team concept. It was coined in the 70’s with music executives working on spreading the word about new artists, and making them bigger names. I’d love for you to spread the word about my books! Will you please join my team? Email me at tonyak11(AT)yahoo(Dot)com and put JOIN in the subject line.

Why am I doing this when I only release four books a year and giving away something every month? Easy! YOU have always showed up for me! You have been the inspiration to keep me going and writing books. It’s time I give back to you, my reader! I give back to the writing community with this blog. I want to connect with you!

You will never know how much I appreciate every single one of you!

Thanks so much!
Tonya

Who are your favorite authors? There are just too many to name.

If you could pick another author’s character and use him or her as a character in a novel of your own, what character would that be and in what type of setting would you write about him or her? I would probably pick one of Heather Webber’s characters. She’s my critique partner and we write similar genres. We have a good time coming up with different scenarios. It would definitely be a magical world.

You poll your readers and ask them to list five words that best describe your novels. What top five words would they list? Quirky, fun, easy to read, funny, and relatable.

My novel, SPLITSVILLE.COM, just finaled in TWO categories in The Next Generation Indie Book Awards: HUMOR and MYSTERY! I was so excited! The awards ceremony is at The Book Expo of America in New York. I get a medal!!! How fun is that????

Are you more “a dog person” or “a cat person,” and what kind of canine or feline assistance with your writing do you receive, if any? I’m an all around animal person. BUT I do have two canine companions that sit by my feet and watch me while I write. I actually thank them in each one of my books!

You’re admitted to heaven and you decide to throw a dinner party to celebrate your arrival.  What five people, living or dead, are on your guest list? That’s not fair…..I’d have to pick my children and husband. That’s five and I’d want to spend all the time with them.

Where can you and your books be found on line? Please share your links.

Website: Tonyakappes.blogspot.com

Amazon.com

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords

Author Biography for Tonya Kappes: Tonya is an Amazon Movers and Shakers, and self-published International bestselling author.

She writes humorous cozy mystery and women’s fiction that involves quirky characters in quirky situations. Splitsville.com, the first novel in the Olivia Davis Mystery Series, is a double finalist in the Next
Generation Indie Book Awards in the Mystery and Humorous Categories. Carpe Bead ‘em is a finalist in Amazon’s eFestival of Words in the Women’s Fiction Category.

She travels to various writer’s groups giving workshops on marketing and promoting no matter where you are in your career, and on self publishing.

Books by Tonya Kappes – Fiction: Carpe Bead ‘em; Something Spooky This Way Comes; Believe Christmas Anthology; An Olivia Davis Paranormal Mystery – Splitsville.com

Grandberry Falls Series: The Ladybug Jinx; Happy New Life; A Superstitious Christmas; Never Tell Your Dreams

A Divorced Diva Beading Mystery Series: A Bead of Doubt

A Magical Cures Mystery: A Charming Crime

Non-Fiction: The Tricked-Out Toolbox~Promotional and Marketing Tools Every Writer Needs

The E-Pub PUB thanks Tonya for spending some time with us this week and we wish her much continuing success in her writing endeavors. 


This entry was posted in Authors, Books, E-Pub PUB, E-publishing, E-readers, Kindle, Nook, Publishing, Reading, Women's Fiction, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cozy Up with Author Tonya Kappes’ Fiction … and More!

  1. Wow, you are one busy lady, Tonya. I love the street team concept! As much as I am dying to read A Magical Cures Mystery: A Charming Crime, I’m going to be sensible. I have decided to get serious about marketing my books so if I win your drawing, please send me The Tricked-Out Toolbox~Promotional and Marketing Tools Every Writer Needs, cause I need some tools. My e-mail serenawriting (at) gmail (dot) com. I hope you’ll consider speaking at a Florida Writers Association conference someday, which is held annually in October. Thanks for another outstanding interview, Candice. You’ll always be KH to me.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Isn’t she a busy one, Serena? You can’t help but feel the energy rubbing off Tonya! 🙂 And I love the Street Team concept, too! It would be great to entice Tonya to a FWA Conference — maybe we could put a word in with the VP 😉
      Glad you liked the interview. Missed you at PCWW last night, but I’ll seeya soon!

  2. Cherie Marks says:

    Great interview! You’ve accomplished so much in five years, Tonya. Keep it up. If I had to narrow it down, I don’t have Splitsville.com yet. I’d enjoy reading that one. Thanks for the giveaway! authorcheriemarks (at) gmail (dot) com

  3. Tonya Kappes says:

    Thanks so much for having me, Candice!!! So glad to be here. It was a fun interview:)

  4. Such an awesome lady, and I LOVE her books. Great interview, Tonya! makenink (at) yahoo (dot) com

  5. Pj Schott says:

    Terrific interview. Love this author. And can’t wait to read her latest!! e-mail pj (at) geniusboston (dot) com

Leave a Reply

