Air Cancer Flight 102: C is for …

We visited with Nurse Angel Ann “Witchy Woman” June 12 for our pre-chemo blood draw which went uneventfully, as usual, except for Ann doing the draw in a different room then asking that I go weigh my own self in the blood-draw room and instruct N.A. Carrie to chart my weight. But we won’t mention that 😉

I also had the opportunity to offer Ann a shitload lot of sincere thanks for having suggested the one thing that finally helped, the prior week, to rid me of, shall we say, a two-week accumulation a horrible case of … constipation.

I shall spare you, Dear Reader, the awful details, but those of you who either have undergone chemotherapy or who have taken prescribed narcotics for any length of time, will attest to the fact that The Big C really stands for Constipation, not Cancer. This, and other equally-gross things, shall be a topic in my non-fiction Work In Progress (WIP) being written for first-time cancer patients. It falls under that category “Things About Which They Never Told You the Whole Truth.”

My real life friends will attest to the fact that I was incommunicado for about three weeks. They should be grateful. Even my cats knew to stay out of my way. In any case, I was miserable. I had tried everything short of a stick of dynamite and, believe me, that was next! Ann suggested I try Miralax (R). I’d believed that it was just like all the other over-the-counter products available and hadn’t yet tried it. But after Ann’s suggestion, three days later I had the beginnings of a smile on my face again. Needless to say, henceforth I shall put up with almost any shenanigan Ann pulls 😉

So, yesterday, June 13 (emphasis on the “13” for those triskaidekaphobics among you) was a chemo day.  After Wonder Doc reviewed my platelets and other blood goodies and pronounced me fit for another boatload of noxious chemicals, I wished him a sincere Happy Vacation and proceeded to the Infusion Suite. They were a-rockin’ and a-rollin’ with a full house again, so I elected to take a chair in the side room which was empty, as I felt a nap coming on.

Gentle Cathy was my assigned N.A. for the afternoon and she graciously waited until I’d finished my lunch before she pulled her cart full of needles over my way and picked a vein. A few squiggles later and it was obvious that the vein wasn’t going to cooperate despite the gallons of water I’d been ingesting. Cathy asked if she was hurting me, to which I responded “Oh, maybe a little.” Well, that was all it took. Cathy removed the needle and decided to choose another vein, on the other arm, even. The needle found its mark swiftly and painlessly, but when N.A. Carrie walked by just then, Cathy said to her, “Oh geeze now she’s going to blog about me.” Carrie just smiled and said, “Yep. You’re in trouble now!”

Needless to say, two little needle sticks are hardly worth a blog post, but when someone expects a post, what’s a writer to do? After all, we’re here to please our readers! So, for the purposes of this post, C is for Constipation … and for Cathy. And Cathy — this post is for you 🙂

PS: Ann, I shall be forever grateful, if my thanks on Tuesday weren’t sufficent!

This entry was posted in Air Cancer, Chemotherapy, Constipation, Doctors, Health, Humor, Medical System and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Air Cancer Flight 102: C is for …

  1. Archon's Den says:

    Miralax is marketed in Canada as Metamucil, with an orange flavor added. Wife already uses it.

  2. Archon's Den says:

    Gimme a C! Whenever you get around to it. Thanx for Miralax. I’ll inform wifey, who also has IBS. Daughter, LadyRyl, gets an hour infusion every two months for pain control from Fibro. Fight the good fight, and write the good write. Best wishes.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Oh, please do inform Wifey, Arch! And I hope it helps. It’s a miracle, I tell ya! You keep fighting the good fight on your side, too! And write on!

  3. You are still in my prayers every single day, along with two other wonderful friends who are going through the same thing. My sympathy on the problem of the day. I have IBS so I’m all too familiar with it. UGH! My thoughts are with you my friend.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Thanks so very much, Bette! Ya, it’s a horrible problem — but thank goodness for my wonderful Nurse Angels who are not only caring and funny but smart!

  4. Lynne Favreau says:

    It’s been a year but—ah, I remember it well. And I was only eating Ben and Jerry’s. I don’t recommend an all dairy diet. XOX-Lynne

    • cwc6161 says:

      Ah, Lynne, I do SO owe you an e-mail! You’re on my mind a lot lately! Hope all is well with you and yours. And I agree re: the all-dairy diet. Yikes! XOXO

  5. and Courageous Candice coping charmingly 🙂

  6. Ron Fritsch says:

    Candice W. Coghill, thank you for this wonderful use of the “C” letter in our alphabet. I wasn’t aware of some of the complications of chemotherapy, including constipation. And “two little needle sticks are . . . worth a blog post.” To those of us who care.

Leave a Reply

