5 Best Ways to Kick Cancer’s Ass

Often, I’m told that I have “such a good attitude” when it comes to dealing with my ongoing, er, relationship with cancer. Perhaps I do, but I dunno — it’s no different to me than how I deal with most things. One thing I do know is that my “attitude,” or however you want to characterize it, is how I get through most days. In the hope that this may help you or a friend or loved one, here it is in five fairly-easy steps:

First, know and accept that you’re in a Fight, perhaps the fight of (or for) your life. Even if you’ve been a pacifist all your life, it’s time to glove-up and be prepared to do battle. You will be battling your fears, your pain, the medical establishment, most-definitely your insurance company, and, possibly, time. Enter the arena with your head held high. Bring as many warriors into the battle with you as you’re able. Everyone will rally around you. Just ask!

Ignore a lot of what you read when you begin doing internet searches about your cancer. Don’t let recommended treatments scare the crap out of you before treatment even begins. The best sources of information will be the oncology nurses where you receive your treatment. Allow them to hold your hand and ask them your questions. They are knowledgeable, empathetic, and honest, and many treatments aren’t as bad as they sound.

Giggle. That’s right, laugh! If there’s one thing cancer hates, it’s to be laughed at. If you’re new to the fight,  you’ll probably find this hard to believe, but it’s true. There are many humorous aspects about cancer and cancer treatment. You’ll find that looking for the humorous side will leave you feeling a lot better both physically and mentally!

Hold hands with your loved ones. Hold hands with your friends. Hold hands with the fellow patients you meet when you go for treatment. If you’ve never in your life been a “hugger,” now’s the time to start. Human touch is healing. Become a dispenser of hugs and “I love you’s” and you’ll feel the love — and the healing — returned tenfold.

Take time to smell the roses! If, like me, you’re no longer able to work due to your cancer, you will surely have more time on your hands than you did before! Cancer can be a blessing in this way. Go take pictures of that sunrise. Attend that community event. Take up that hobby you always wanted to do but never took the time. Treat yourself! Now’s the time 🙂

So, there you have it. I guarantee that by following at least some of my suggestions you’ll be well on your way to kicking cancer’s ass! Fight on and fight well, Fellow Warrior!

This entry was posted in Cancer, Challenge, Chemotherapy, Encouragement, Health, Humor, Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 5 Best Ways to Kick Cancer’s Ass

  1. Barbara says:

    I came across your blog @ random & found myself laughing out loud. Love your dark humor & take on this strange journey we don’t sign up for, but navigate as best we can. Thanks for your writings & insights, very cathartic. Keep on….

    • cwc6161 says:

      🙂 Thanks, Barbara, for your comments and your visit! Humor definitely is cathartic, and it beats the other alternatives. Good luck on your journey and please visit again!

  2. I just saw this Candice! My husband is going through treatment after his surgery where they removed a soft tissue sarcoma. Two years now his CT scans are coming up clean. We know he has 3 more years of checking, but like I always tell people, he’s not dying of cancer, he’s living with it! 😀

    Good for you! Sounds like you are fighting the good fight.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Oh, bless his heart, Diane! Thank you so much for sharing. My prayers and positive thoughts will be with your husband and with you as he continues his recovery. That’s such wonderful news 🙂 And you’re right! A thought I borrowed from somewhere on the internet is similar, and I believe it wholeheartedly: “Cancer doesn’t have us, we have it!” And we WILL prevail!

  3. You’re a fighter, Candice! Go get ’em.

  4. Archon's Den says:

    I am well and truly rallied. Not merely behind you, but by your side. Could I do anything more, I would in a second. Continue to FIGHT, friend warrior.

  5. This so very beautifully you Candice – thank you for sharing and for simply being the person you are. Don’t know if I have ever told you this but you are on my prayer list and prayed for every day.

  6. I love to read your eloquent words Candice, and that line….”If there is one thing Cancer hates, it’s being laughed at”…would, I imagine, typify your attitude to the whole of your life not just what afflicts you now. Keep laughing my friend, there are more like me that need you.

  7. Kathy S. says:

    Great advise – for cancer AND life! Thanks for the most excellent blog, Candice!

  8. Lynne Favreau says:

    Here’s an excellent article about Optimism http://www.cfidsselfhelp.org/library/optimism-hope-control-attitudes-health. One can teach themselves to become more optimistic through cognitive therapy.

    Of course I agree with everything you said Candice. Our attitude makes life’s little hiccups easier to bear, more pleasant for those around us and gives us hope.

    But I just never liked the analogy of fighting cancer, though it is so apt for most of what we go through. I read an article quite a few years ago about a woman taking exception to the cliched “fighting” cancer and I remember clearly thinking I never want to think of being sick that way because the reality is not everyone “wins” and I thought how horrible it is to label someone who dies of cancer as a loser. And then some movie came out where the parents were begging their child to “fight” like it was her fault she was dying. Not that you are inferring that in the least, I’m just talking semantics here, language ladies that we are.

    I didn’t battle cancer I treated it. Elizabeth Edwards asked not to call her treatment a battle too http://www.salon.com/2010/12/07/elizabeth_edwards_ends_cancer_treatment/

    Hee hee, I was so sick of hearing about what a good attitude I had this summer. Am an upbeat person, period. It wasn’t some stoic face I put on when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I’m always Miss Mary F*%#ing Sunshine.

    But then again sport metaphors don’t work for me either. Rather than kicking cancer’s ass, I lived my life to the fullest while undergoing treatment despite it’s insidious side-effects. You know, what you said.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Wow, thanks for the great links, Lynne! You always are so up-to-date with information. Re: the fight analogy, I’ve had mixed emotions about it, too, and didn’t care for it when I used to see it used. Since I treated the damn stuff and it didn’t work, I’ve given myself permission to fight it now 😉 Either that or I’m becoming pugilistic in my old age!

      It does become difficult to respond re: one’s good attitude, eh? lol…. You can be Miss Mary F*%ing Sunshine and I’ll continue being PollyF*%ingAnna. How’s that?

      xoxoxo to ya. Hope that PT still is going well and that your strength is returning by leaps and bounds!

  9. madisonjohns says:

    Wow, what an inspiration you are! At the hospital I work, they have these signs hanging up in pink that says “fight like a girl.” Laughter and being positive are both important things to do. People forget the importance of telling someone how much they mean to you or hugging them. I have held the hand of patients often. Why just last night there was a little lady that is going into hospice and I squeezed her hand and told her “God bless you.” She is yellow as can be, never went to the doctor, and is 89. Sweetest little lady you ever could meet. I feel so bad that I can’t do more for her, so I did the only thing I could do. It’s hard to see someone like that must have signs and ignored them. She is at peace with not allowing them to do more for her. I just feel sad.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Yours can be such a difficult job and a rewarding job at the same time, Madison! My daughter does the same thing that you do and I praise her frequently. I know I wouldn’t have it in me; it takes a very special person!
      I’ve seen those pink “Fight Like a Girl” signs — and T-shirts, as well. Gotta love it! Laughter always has been my way of dealing with things, though, and I do try to remain positive. No need to change now!

Leave a Reply

