NaNoNonSense a.k.a. NaNinSaNity and the Evil Word Count

So, it’s 2:05 AM, Eastern Standard Time, in Florida, on Thursday, November 3, 2011, and I haven’t yet achieved my Evil Word Count for Thursday, November 2, 2011, Day 2 of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo to those in the know).

If you’re unfamiliar with NaNoWriMo, here’s the premise in its simplest terms: Between November 1 and November 30, write a novel of at least 50,000 words, then upload it to the NaNo website for Evil Word-Count verification. If you’re successful, you get a certificate. Ta-da!

My personal goal is a paltry 2,000 words a day.  The suggested goal is an even more paltry 1,667.  I set my goal a little higher, because I do plan to celebrate (a.) my birthday, (b.) my Mom’s birthday and (c.) Thanksgiving, all of which occur during November.

And furthermore! We elected to participate in something called “Writer’s Digest Poem a Day (PAD) Chapbook Challenge,” which requires the writing of one poem every day during November.  On a prompted topic.  Or using a prompted format. At least with PAD, you don’t have to write 50K.  You don’t even have to upload anything.  And you have the entire month of December to edit your poetry and then submit it in a rather orderly fashion as you would a manuscript.  Compared to NaNo, PAD is a cakewalk!

The KH also will be participating in another romp through chemo-land next week, which will kill not only several thousands more of my red blood cells, but also several hours of my time.

We’ll also bathe frequently and take care of “necessary” bodily functions. Heck, we might even fill up on gas a time or two during November and maybe stop at the grocery store.

Before the official start of NaNo, I laid in a supply of groceries for the month in sufficient quantity to feed Hannibal and his troops.  I’m certain, however, to run out of cat food.  (Nothing can be more destabilizing to a writer intent on making his or her Evil Word Count than a cat sitting two feet away staring a Menacing Cat Stare and threatening telepathically to report you to the local Humane Society if you don’t feed them immediately!)

So anyway, we were discussing the Evil Word Count.  I did achieve my goal on Day 1.  Just barely.  I hopped happily up to the NaNo site to post my count and proudly watched the little meter display a faint blue line signifying my percentage of completion.  (Admittedly, I took the time to check out the word counts of my writing buddies and to sneer through my screen at those who hadn’t yet posted their word counts at 12:07 AM, Eastern Standard Time.)

But today. Today! Well, yesterday, actually. Day 2. Day 2 was a bust. I over-achieved the suggested Evil Word Count, but I’m not gonna post it because I haven’t achieved my personal Evil Word Count. And yesterday was JUST DAY TWO !!!! Already, the NaNo gods are laughing up their sleeves at my impending failure.

“And so,” the bigger smart-alecks among you might ask, “why then, exactly, are you here writing a blog post when you should be using these 500 or so words to finish your dang goal for yesterday, already?”

Because, Dear Reader, I am certifiably insane.  I also am terminally polite and wanted to be the first to inform you that if you don’t see a post from me any time in the near future, it’s not because I have forgotten you. Oh, no! It will be one of two reasons: Either I’m lost in NaNo Land … or the men in the little white coats have finally come to take me away to the funny farm …

where life is beautiful ALL the time …

and you may sing the rest of the lyrics to yourselves. I’m outta here. For now 🙂

Image courtesy of http://www.people-clipart.com/

This entry was posted in Challenge, NaNinSanity, NaNoNonsense, NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, Word Count, Writers, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to NaNoNonSense a.k.a. NaNinSaNity and the Evil Word Count

  1. Jesus Racina says:

    I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Keep it up!

  2. I don’t even know how I got here, however I believed this post was great. I do not realize who you are however definitely you are going to a famous blogger in the event you aren’t already ;). Sorry for bad English Cheers from India!

    • cwc6161 says:

      Thanks for your visit! Hopefully, you’ll find a better map. No need to apologize, my abilities in any Indian language are non-existent 😉 Cheers back !

  3. Archon says:

    In the fifty years i’ve been dragging that pseudonym around, it never occured to me that someone would refer to me as ARCH. It’s not German, but it’s pronounced in German fashion. The C and the H are not a diphthong, the H is elided, silent. It’s simply are-conn. I am not offended, I think Arch is cute, not necessarily for a 67 year-old industrial-grade grouch, but cute. Feel free to continue to use it .

    Some socio-political response to your last post. As far as you are concerned, Ontario begins below the top of the Great Lakes. Above that, it’s all mining and logging. Northern Ontario is more than ten times as big as Southern Ontario and contains less than 10% of the population. Southern Ontario is residential, commercial and some of the best agricultural land in the world which we are rapidly building houses on. (Think Chrissy Hyndes & The Pretenders song, Back to Ohio.)

    Ontario, as a whole, does not have much of a Germanic heritage, just this local area. I’ll get back to it. Ethnicity goes, English, Scottish, Irish, French. I don’t know where German comes. With the tsunami of Indian/Paki/Tamil/Paki via Guyana, probably way down the list. It’s a mosaic with concentrated pockets. Guelph, a small city 15 miles east is the “Italian” city. Hespeler, now incorporated into Cambridge, was half Portugese and half Newfoundlanders. Kitchener was founded by German(?)-speaking Pennsylvania Dutch Mennonites. They spread south and west. Our twin city to the north, Waterloo, is not German, but in the other direction we have Mannheim, Baden, New Hamburg, Jacobschtettle, which changed its’ name to St. Jacobs, and others.

    I used to think that my own little home-town was English/Scottish, with a few Irish and French tossed in. Nobody spoke German. Nobody except old Mrs. Lautenschlager even spoke English with an accent. The longer I live here, the more often I run into a German name, and think, “There was a family back home with that name.” I now have a list of over 20 German names from home, one with two families, unrelated to each other. Not bad for a town of 2000. There is no “German Heritage” because most of these people just became Canadians, or Ontarians. You should be bored enough now to sleep well.

    Damn, I’m verbose. Perhaps I need my own blog. My adult daughter threatened to set me up when she and the grandson visited today.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Wow. Yes. You do need your own blog, Archie — or, Arkon 😉 But, thanks for the socio-political lesson! (I’m just weird enough to enjoy reading that sort of thing…. ) I never realized that Ontario was so diversified. Diversity is, in my opinion, a good thing. It’s what appeals to me about the growth in my own county within the past ten years. Prior to that, our county, and particularly this growing city, were primarily havens for uber-wealthy WASPs with very similar backgrounds and heritage. Sad but true. And mostly boring. Illegal and legal immigration (mostly from Haiti and Guatemala and Mexico) have swelled our population, as have Floridians migrating northward along the east coast, due to ever-increasing crime spreading from Miami (Dade County) up into the Palm Beaches and now encroaching on Florida’s “Treasure Coast.” where my county is located. The increases in population have contributed their share of problems to the area, but they have also brought about a richness that this county and the other 3 were so lacking! btw, it’s rare to find someone these days as verbose as I. Thanks 😉

  4. Archon says:

    Chuck can tell you how German the place used to be. Industry and jobs come and gone. Immigrants looking, and moving, elsewhere. The German core is still there, but nowadays the majority of the population is non-Germanic. The only time you hear German spoken on the street, it’s by two old guys. They tried, years ago to shore up the declining heritage, by starting up an imitation of the German Oktoberfest. It was actually rather nice for a few years, but soon culture began to lose to profit. K/W’s Oktoberfest parade is the largest parade in Canada, including the Santa Claus parade in Toronto. My daughter marched in it one year, in a drum and bugle corps, when she was in high school. It’s broadcast across the country by the CBC TV. One of the founding German clubs recently folded for lack of new members. It does wonders for the local tax base, bringing in millions of dollars, but the thrill is long gone. Now it’s just an excuse for tourists and some of the less couth residents (mostly the younger, newer-comers) to have a ten-day piss-up. Accidents are up, DUIs are up, and you can’t get to or from work without getting stopped in a RIDE spotcheck. Some residents schedule a week of vacation time to work in the festhalls or driving taxi, etc. Far more just get out of town, some as far as Florida, to get away from the frenzy. Ask Chuck about the crazy streets. They don’t run square or parallel. Three and five point intersections are not uncommon. Now, close down chunks of three main streets in the core and add ten thousand more inebriated drivers who don’t know the crazy lay-out. The only way to get to the other side of some streets, is to be born there, and the Region of Waterloo is Canada’s leader in installing traffic roundabouts. We now have more than 20, with another dozen coming soon. Such a boon at the best of times, and Oktoberfest ain’t it. I’m ranting like Brainrants. Time for bed. More another day. Keep well.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Interesting ! It’s funny how our perception of a place can be so far removed from its reality…. I never in a million years would’ve guessed at Ontario’s Germanic history! I’ll have to search for a link I once sent to Chuck — just to harass him — when I thought he was a native of Ontario. It speaks to Ontario’s “lack of identity.” You’ll appreciate it, I think 🙂 Thanks for the visit, Arch, and take care !

  5. Archon says:

    “My baby, she wrote me a letter.” I think it was a Q. It’s hard to tell in purple crayon. They don’t let them have sharp objects. She just got out of that I-love-me jacket that fastens up the back. Thought maybe your friend was in town for our annual Booze-a-thon, Oktoberfest. Go cwc! You can do it. I’ll be quiet for a month.

    • cwc6161 says:

      lol A big purple Q, huh ? Guess I’ll soon learn the “no sharp objects” rule, along with all the others in this here joint. Actually, it’s not too bad around here. Three hots and a cot and all the jigsaw puzzles you can do. Art therapy tomorrow; that should be interesting. I’ll have to ask Chuck about the Booze-a-thon. I think his festivities generally are limited to Book-a-thons, but I may be mistaken since they’re closely related….. Thanks for the words of encouragement, and you don’t need to be quiet ! It’s lonely in my cell late at night when they’ve put all the crayons away….

  6. wisdomofmoda says:

    Dearest Hermudgeon, Moda loveth thee so. I admire your commitment to NaNoWriMo. Take heart and remember, “Three steps forward after every face-plant!”. You may crawl over the finish with bruises, but you will be a “novelist” when you’re done. Besides, NaNoWriMo will make chemo look like a vacation.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Modaaaaa ! Hermeee is plum delighted that you came to visit, my Darling ! I will heed your words of Moda-Wisdom, I promise ! Day 3 was better than Day 2, so maybe Hermeee is gettin’ in the groove 🙂 And hey ! I like that…. a “novelist”! Whoa ! Never thought of it like that. And believe me, it’s already making chemo look like a vacation. (Thank goodness I have another vacation next week! lol) Take good care of that knee, now. I don’t want to hafta care you up the stairs at PCWW next week!

  7. Gayle Swift says:

    According to John, the only writing utensil permitted “at the farm” is a crayon. I suspect that would slow your progress dramatically. Stick to the keyboard. Include lots of description and insert a monologue or two. Make impressive offerings to your Muse.She can be H on wheels when she feels disrespected.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Ohhh ! A crayon ! I hadn’t thought of that. At least that would make this experience somewhat more colorful. The only color, at present, is the blue language that has been slipping into my vocabulary in an alarming fashion. My cats are hiding under the bed today ! I guess I have no choice but to return to the !@#@! keyboard 😦 As for the description, there is lots. Probably too much. You know me. Never at a loss for an over-wordy sentence 🙂 Oh, and yes, my Muse. (It’s a he, by the way.) I have offered everything to this point but my first-born child. And she’s next !!

Leave a Reply

