Failed Wednesday Exercise

Exercise Wednesday (Writing Prompt from Chris Hamilton, Florida Writers Association Conference Blog):   “So today’s exercise is simple. It’s three in the morning. Write a brief story about a character who wants to sleep–who needs to sleep, but can’t. Why can’t they sleep? Are they upset? Afraid? Stressed? Or just older? Is it too noisy? Too crowded? Or maybe too quiet?

Is this new to them or are they used to it? Are they panicked, angry, or accepting?

Where are they? Are they alone, or near someone who might be disturbed if they move around too much? Are they home or someplace on the road? (Maybe driving or at the airport?)”

__________

Wednesday, 10 p.m.: Oh wow, Chris’ writing prompt this week has insomnia as its topic.  That should be easy enough!  If ever there was something I knew about….  I’ll do that right after I take a nap.

Thursday: I shouldn’t be surprised at the time: two thirty-six a.m. Between one a.m. and three a.m. is my usual waking time. Has been for years. But I guess I thought that the newly-prescribed Ativan would allow me to sleep through the night. Ha. Fat chance. And I’m pissed because, once again, I have nodded off and missed a deadline only to waken again a couple of hours later. I was all prepared to answer Chris Hamilton’s writing prompt. And now it’s the next day. Damn it!

Time to log on. My usual answer to insomnia. I don’t buy into that insomnia theory that suggests that if you awaken in the middle of the night you should stay in bed and relax and eventually you will fall back asleep. Of course, I would have no reason to log on if I did take that advice. And, the fact is that I’m an internet junkie.

The keystrokes for my user name and password flow as freely from my fingers as my name would. Let’s check out Facebook. No one there. Oh wait, Chris is logged on. No big surprise there. And Denise. Candice from California, my namesake Facebook Friend. Of course, Chez Candice it’s 3 hours earlier. Lucky her. No one is posting anything. Guess I’ll go see what’s up with this stupid prescription that I started last night.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Benzodiazepine, search for “Ativan.” Ah, a nice long entry. Good. I read that Ativan’s primary use is “to relieve anxiety,” but it’s also known to aid in insomnia. I’m not an anxious type, and apparently I’m not among those that Ativan helps with insomnia.

The Ativan scrip is just the latest attempt in mine and Wonder-Doc’s quest to find something for my sleeplessness. Doc said that the Ativan wouldn’t make me sleep but that it would “relax me” and possibly lead to a full night’s sleep. I should’ve known better. And now I’m out of pocket another $25.43 for nothing.

My late-night buddy WIkipedia tells me that Ativan is classified as a “benzodiazepine.” That’s a cool word; kind of rolls off your tongue like “serotonin uptake inhibitor,” another medically-related term that I like. During my sleepless hours, I’ve learned enough medical terminology from Wiki to have an “M.D.” after my name.

Wouldn’t that be wonderful? The “M.D.” after my name, I mean. It probably helps sell books and articles faster if have such significant credentials after your name.

Sometimes, I learn disturbing stuff on Wiki or stuff that I’d rather not have discovered. “Benzodiazepines are safe and effective in the short term, although cognitive impairments and paradoxical effects such as aggression or behavioral disinhibition occasionally occur,” I read.

Great. As a creative sort, I’m prone to occasional bouts of “behavioral disinhibition.” Any of my friends can testify to that. But cognitive impairments? Aggression? Surely, I don’t need those to further complicate my life.

Maybe it’s not such a bad thing that the Ativan didn’t work. And I’m getting sleepy again. G’nite Wiki. G’nite Facebook. G’nite Chris, wherever you are.

This entry was posted in Insomnia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Failed Wednesday Exercise

  1. Kat Ward says:

    Is it appropriate to say that I laughed out loud? ‘Cause the reality of your insomnia isn’t all that funny. I’ve been staying up too late writing articles these last few weeks and when that alarms goes off at 6:30 a.m. and I have to get up to make my daughter’s lunch, drive her to school and hopefully put a sentence or two together in a loving, engaging, maybe humorous way, I feel like a lobotomized zombie. So, I don’t know how you do it. It makes me concerned for your predicament, but guiltily thankful!

    • cwc6161 says:

      LOL of course it is…. I laugh at it all the time, because it’s far easier to accept it and face it head on. I, at least, have the “luxury” of no longer being employed in the traditional sense, so if I want to stay up all night writing, I can. Of course, it’s impossible to schedule those nights, so if I happen to have an early appointment the next morning, I just have to drag my carcass out of bed ! I don’t envy you one bit, having still to take care of your responsibility as a Mom while walking about in a lobotomized state due to your responsiblity to your writing ! God Bless 🙂

Leave a Reply

