Tuning Up

We are old, now, my wonderful love …

older than that holler between the hills

where first we met

and I heard you makin’ music

and just knew I had to have you

by my side.

You have aged a bit, it’s true,

but you respond to me

with as much passion as before

when I cradle you just … so …

in my arms.

~~~

Do you remember that first time,

our first time?

I remember touching you shyly,

almost reverently,

afraid to push you too far

but unable to keep my hands from you.

~~~

Easing into my rhythms,

you soon joined me,

matching me note for note

as sunset sky yielded to

the night’s starry darkness.

~~~

Now, just as always,

but then again maybe more,

I love your melancholy

and the sweet tenderness of you

that surrounds me

in the quiet of an evening

on the riverbank,

with only a pesky wood owl

bearing witness.

~~~

Let me caress you again, love,

the fingers of this hand upon your frets,

the others strumming you

with abandon,

tuning up.

Watercolor “Tuning Up” by kind permission of the Artist Rod McIver and his site “Heron Dance”: 

http://herondance.imagekind.com/store/imagedetail.aspx/b0ec3b7b-2f39-48d8-a16d-1ef37215638d/Tuning_Up

This entry was posted in Friendship, Love, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuning Up

  1. Thank you SO much for the kind words on my blog and the heads up on the Ashley Gang! I’d read about them, but had no idea they were buried so close.
    I took this opportunity to join your blog and read some of your poetry. Just beautiful and I enjoyed it very much. I’m looking forward to reading more as time moves on.

    • cwc6161 says:

      Ruth, you’re welcome ! Florida has such a colorful history and yet I didn’t know about the Ashley Gang until I worked on the property where their burial site is located. I’m so glad you enjoyed my poetry, thank you 🙂

  2. Beautiful! Stopping by from SW

Leave a Reply

